Starting a new business? Oh heck, why not?

Standard

Exciting things are a-muck!!!

This pretty much sums up my last few months. Working part time in critical care at a local hospital, raising 2 small children and supporting my husband as he completes his thesis for his EMBA…as if this were not enough to keep me out of trouble!

In December of 2012 I became aware of some really great personal care products sold via network marketing. I was so in love with Arbonne‘s products and their standards, I was compelled to find out more.

So began my journey into the world of multi-level marketing.

There is something so compelling to me about gravitating to a new field of study and just going with it in a huge way. For example: watch some golf, try some golf, have some golf lessons, watch some pros, play tons of golf, become a golf addict…does that pattern sound familiar? A huge learning curve consisting of goal setting, scheduling, prospecting, sponsoring and online marketing ensued. I am LOVING the control and being my own boss!!

There is a huge component of network marketing that centers around personal development. Enter in Robin Sharma and other amazing success coaches. You cannot succeed with this type of business if you do not have focus, momentum, vision and  a clearly understood reason for bothering to try in the first place. I am expected to ‘strive for excellence’, be ‘world-class’ and never settle for mediocrity. Finally! Leadership worth listening to!

My reasons to succeed? Spending time with family and paying off debts. Simple but yet profound in our current rat-race lifestyle. What started as a way to make a few extra hundred dollars a month is changing quickly into one of the most positive, empowering journeys of my life. Who knew? Being brave enough to start my own business has built confidence that I didn’t know I was lacking. I am more centred, calm, reflective and connected than ever before. Those outcomes were certainly not in the brochure!

Leave a Reply

