Car Crazies!

Standard

So unexpected. Such a feeling of freedom in an unexpected place. I crank up the music and roll down the windows.

I am a Mom with NO KIDS in my car!

Rev up that engine...it's ME time!

Rev up that engine…it’s ME time!

Dear God, what has it come to? The mere thought of driving sans children makes me giddy. How could I have ever taken this for granted?

I can sing at the top of my lungs. I can listen to WHATEVER I choose! I am relaxed and eager to do errands, buy groceries, even run this baby through the wash!!!

It only took 5 years of driving with infants and young children in my vehicle to get here. Those uninitiated to baby/car or kid/car situations cannot empathize. Nothing will allow you to feel the anxiety, the dread and the hell that is infant transport. The buckles and tears and fussing and crying. Oh God, the crying! Like an electric current up my spine, instantly inciting neurologic chaos. Can I reach the soother? Where is the soother? Ok, just stay on the road and reach for the soother behind you. Make it stop!!!

No longer is a day running errands an opportunity to explore the town and rest my brain. Now I shuffle children in and out and in and out of buckles and belts with the remnants of little orange cheesie crackers crusted in the cracks. Nevermind the incessant nap schedule. Can I make it out before she sleeps or will she fall asleep in the car and then wake when I move her and then be crazy until I go crazy and then not sleep at night and on and on and on…?

But not today. Today, for 30 whole minutes, I have my car-time back. There are no words for this luxury. This is heaven. I will enjoy every last second of my music and even stop for a latte. Hell, I might even go really crazy and stop at a shoe store!

Look at me! Oh yeah… I got this!

P.S. Get out and go inside the Starbucks. Drive-thrus are for Moms.

4 responses »

  1. I would have had to drive off a cliff… Thank God I chose not to become a mother! It’s not for everyone, and nothing in life is “one size fits all.” Right?

    Congratulations on your new found freedom, but be sure to obey the laws of the road, and watch for the pedestrians!

  2. Pingback: 3:54 am. And Inspired. – Lead.Learn.Live.

Leave a Reply

