Skinny love, sad love.

Standard
sad woman

If you are asking “Is it enough?” It is not.
Photo credit: shutterstock.com

I stumbled upon a song whose first line of lyrics I find myself repeating over and over in my head.

Bon Iver’s Skinny Love.

The first line is:  “Come on skinny love just last the year”  This is what I hear…

Come on skinny love. Even though you are weak, you are strained and unkind, I am begging you to last. Although I know this love is a lie that I repeat to myself, yearning for it to morph into greatness, I still want this untruth. I want it to go on just a bit longer. For a few more days, weeks, months, I want to be able to hide from being completely alone. Eating alone, sitting alone and sleeping utterly alone. I need you skinny love. You are my shield against family and ‘friends’. I hold you up and wave you for all to see, proud and bold. So you see, you give me strength in my days, or so I tell myself. I am not thankful for you skinny love, even though you rescue me every day. I cannot be grateful for this mediocre dance. I am only thankful that you need me as much as I need you.

Here is my favorite version of this song by Bella Ferraro –  because she is amazing and because she believed enough to pursue her dream.

CB

2 responses »

    • Isn’t she amazing? After she went through the competition, her confidence went through the roof. She sings it with even more power and it is stunning. Horrible video but just close your eyes:

      Best love, Christy

Leave a Reply

